I'm Only a Novice

ABPA Financial members can post their Bush Poetry here ...
All Forum Visitors can view but only Financial ABPA Members can post and reply.
Peely

I'm Only a Novice

Post by Peely » Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:13 pm

I was sitting in the audience at Tamworth at the Poettes' show where it was mentioned that we were in the presence of a master poet - David Campbell was also in the audience on that particular day. This made me think about what life is like for those people that are aspiring writers:

I'M ONLY A NOVICE
© John Peel 24/1/2014

I'm trying to write like a master, I'm only a novice you see -
I wonder if they ever laboured when they were beginners like me.
I struggle with rhyme and with metre, I'm not sure what all the terms mean.
Whenever I ask for opinions, they say that I'm still very green.

I think if I keep working at it, I'll get there in no time, no doubt
And perhaps I will write like a master when I have it all figured out!
Until then I'll just keep on trying - I surely can't get any worse
And one day you'll read some great poetry, instead of mere doggerel verse!
John Peel - The Man from Gilmore Creek

Heather

Re: I'm Only a Novice

Post by Heather » Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:22 pm

We've all been there haven't we John?

Heather :)

Peely

Post by Peely » Wed Feb 26, 2014 6:53 pm

Definitely Heather

At one time or another :)

Heather

Post by Heather » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:03 pm

probably in the beginning...... :lol:

Peely

Post by Peely » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:25 pm

Seeing that the second line can be interpreted in more than one way, plenty of beginners think that they are brilliant :lol:

Heather

Post by Heather » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:34 pm

Yep, that they (we, I) did...... ;)

Peely

Post by Peely » Wed Feb 26, 2014 7:38 pm

Line is now less open to interpretation :)

Neville Briggs

Post by Neville Briggs » Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:15 am