Hidden Gully

ABPA Financial members can post their Bush Poetry here ...
All Forum Visitors can view but only Financial ABPA Members can post and reply.
Zondrae

Hidden Gully

Post by Zondrae » Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:37 am

G'day all,
I have had a poke around - and I can't see anywhere I have posted this poem on this site. It has some little 'bits' that I really liked. The best it has done in comps is a C. I'm not too good at picking the faults in my own work. (otherwise I'd fix them wouldn't I).
So, tell me (1) any big booboos (2) are my personal expressions too obscure? (3) is there anything you like or dislike. (I am preparing myself for a whipping)
Naturally, as the poem is now public, I would not change it but I would still like opinions on faults etc. If you don't wish to post your comments. I would welcome a private message (pm).

Hidden Gully
©Zondrae King (Corrimal)

Some days I go out walking with no plan inside my head.
I just let whimsy take me and I wander where I’m lead.
And so it came to be one day I found a magic place.
I know I wasn’t dreaming and a smile spread cross my face.

At first there came a fairy wren with grass held in its beak.
It flew into some nearby trees. It’s then I heard the creek.
The trees were old and twisted and half covered up by moss.
The ropes of climbing vines made curtains everywhere they’d cross.

I halted, stopped dead in my tracks and heard a little crunch
and rustle in the undergrowth of lizards chasing lunch.
Then there upon a sturdy branch a Cormorant, on high
sat holding up its out stretched wings to let its washing dry.

I sat and rested on a tree and did not make a sound
then spied a whiskered nose come from a doorway in the ground.
A sleek and timid water rat slid silent from the bank
then left a line of bubbles as into the creek he sank.

In shallows, near the edges of the creek, the reeds grew high
while out in deeper water schools of fingerlings swam by.
A quarrelling of Lorikeets flew circles round a tree