Welcome to the ABPA website


WELCOME, membership of the Australian Bush Poets Association (ABPA) is comprised of writers, performers and individuals who are interested in bush poetry and enjoy written and live stories in rhyme and metre. If you have an interest in this piece of Australian culture called Bush Poetry, you are welcome here.

The objectives of the Australian Bush Poets Association is to foster and encourage the growth of Bush Poetry in Australia. By definition, Australian Bush Poetry is metred and rhymed poetry about Australia, Australians and/or the Australian way of life.

To join the Australian Bush Poets Association and receive our bi-monthly magazine, go to our Membership page.

The ABPA keeps in touch with our members through this website (and forum) and our bi-monthly magazine of Bush Poetry news, events, results of written and spoken competitions as well as samples of contemporary bush poetry. Many members have books, CDs and other products. These can be advertised in the magazine. For rates, click here. The deadline for ads and other content for the magazine is the 22nd of the month preceding publication. Magazines are published at the beginning of February, April, June, August, October and December.

ABPA Facebook page Check out our Facebook page.

WA State Championships - Toodyay

Toodyay hosted the WA Bush Poetry Championships from Friday 30th November to Sunday 1st November. Results here.

WA Championships
WA State Championship winners in Original Humorous section: Rob Gunn and Roger Cracknell (equal third), Greg Joass (second) and Winner John Hayes with President Bill Gordon.

WA Championships
Toodyay Shire CEO Rosemary Madasci presented awards in Original Serious section to Christine Boult (third), John Hayes (second) and Roger Cracknell (Winner) with President Bill Gordon.

WA CHampionships
Former President of Toodyay Festivals Andrew McCann presented awards in Yarnspinning section to Bill Gordon (equal second), Peter Rudolph (Winner) and Arthur Leggett (equal second).

WA Championships
Toodyay Shire CEO Rosemary Madasci presented awards to WA State Champions John Hayes (Winner), Roger Cracknell (runner-up) and Christine Boult (third).

WA CHampionships
MC Meg Gordon (left) with WA Silver Quill Written Verse Competition winners in Original Humorous section Terry Piggott and Cobber Lethbridge (equal first) and President Bill Gordon. Results here.

WA Championships entertainment
Entertainment for Saturday night at Toodyay WA State Championships Terry Bennetts (left) and Cobber Lethbridge.

See previously featured poets.

See previously featured achievers.

Enter a Written Competition

With restrictions in place affecting festivals and events, the best way to participate in the world of bush poetry is to keep writing. The best way to improve your writing is to keep doing it and to edit, edit, edit. To see how your writing is going, the best way is to enter a competition.

They're listed in red on the Events & Results page.